While every effort has been made to monitor citation layout rules, there might be some discrepancies.Please describe the appropriate style manual or various other sources if friend have any questions.

You are watching: Which list of french leaders is in chronological order

Corrections? Updates? Omissions? permit us understand if you have actually suggestions to enhance this short article (requires login).
Feedback divide a kind (Required)Factual CorrectionSpelling/Grammar repair CorrectionAdditional InformationOther

Our editors will review what you’ve submitted and also determine even if it is to review the article.

Join starrkingschool.net"s Publishing partner Program and also our community of specialists to gain a an international audience for her work!

throughout its lengthy history, France has actually gone with numerous varieties of government. Under the 5th Republic, France’s current system, the head that state is the president, who is elected by straight universal suffrage.

See more: How Far Is Mobile Alabama From Atlanta Georgia, Distance From Atlanta, Ga To Mobile, Al

The table offers a perform of the major rulers that France.

significant rulers of France See also the table of holy Roman majesties Carolingian empire Capetian (Robertian) dynasty Carolingian dynasty Capetian (Robertian) empire (king) Carolingian dynasty Capetian dynasty Valois dynasty Valois dynasty (Orléans branch) Valois dynasty (Angoulême branch) house of Bourbon first Republic (president) first Empire (emperor) residence of Bourbon (king) residence of Orléans second Republic (president) second Empire (emperor) third Republic (president) Vichy France (head that state) Provisional government 1944–46 fourth Republic (president) fifth Republic
Pippin III, the short (mayor the the palace) 741–751
Pippin III, the short (king of the Franks) 751–768
Carloman (king of the Franks) 768–771
Charlemagne (Charles I; king that the Franks) 771–800
Charlemagne (Charles I; divine Roman emperor) 800–814
louis I, the Pious (emperor) 814–840
Lothar i (emperor) 840–855
louis II, the German (king of the eastern Franks) 840–876
Charles II, the fully (king that the West Franks) 843–875
Charles II, the outright (Holy roman inn emperor) 875–877
luigi II (emperor) 855–875
Charles III, the Fat (king the the eastern Franks) 876–887
Charles III, the Fat (Holy roman emperor, king of the West Franks) 884–887
luigi II, the Stammerer (king of the West Franks) 877–879
louis III (king that the West Franks) 879–882
Carloman (king that the West Franks) 879–884
Arnulf (king the the eastern Franks) 887–899
Eudes (king of the West Franks) 888–898
Charles III, the an easy (king of the West Franks) 898–922
louis IV, the boy (last king the the east Franks) 899–911
Robert i 922–923
Rudolf 923–936
luigi IV d"Outremer 936–954
Lothar 954–986
louis V 986–987
Hugh Capet 987–996
Robert II, the Pious 996–1031
Henry i 1031–60
Philip ns 1060–1108
Louis vi 1108–37
louis VII 1137–80
Philip II 1180–1223
luigi VIII 1223–26
louis IX (St. Louis) 1226–70
Philip III 1270–85
Philip IV 1285–1314
luigi X 1314–16
man I 1316
Philip V 1316–22
Charles IV 1322–28
Philip using 1328–50
man II, the great 1350–64
Charles V 1364–80
Charles through 1380–1422
Charles VII 1422–61
luigi XI 1461–83
Charles VIII 1483–98
louis XII 1498–1515
Francis ns 1515–47
Henry II 1547–59
Francis II 1559–60
Charles IX 1560–74
Henry III 1574–89
Henry IV 1589–1610
luigi XIII 1610–43
luigi XIV 1643–1715
louis XV 1715–74
louis XVI 1774–92
louis (XVII) 1793–95
nationwide Convention 1792–95
brochure 1795–99
Consulate (Napoleon Bonaparte) 1799–1804
Napoleon i (Napoleon Bonaparte) 1804–14, 1815
Napoleon (II) 1815
luigi XVIII 1814, 1815–24
Charles X 1824–30
Louis-Philippe 1830–48
Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte 1848–52
Napoleon III (Louis-Napoléon Bonaparte) 1852–70
Adolphe Thiers 1871–73
Patrice de Mac-Mahon 1873–79
Jules Grévy 1879–87
Sadi Carnot 1887–94
Jean Casimir-Périer 1894–95
Félix Faure 1895–99
Émile Loubet 1899–1906
Armand Fallières 1906–13
Raymond Poincaré 1913–20
Paul Deschanel 1920
Alexandre Millerand 1920–24
Gaston Doumergue 1924–31
Paul Doumer 1931–32
Albert Lebrun 1932–40
Philippe Pétain 1940–44
Vincent Auriol 1947–54
René Coty 1954–59
Charles de Gaulle 1959–69
Georges Pompidou 1969–74
Valéry Giscard d"Estaing 1974–81
François Mitterrand 1981–95
Jacques Chirac 1995–2007
Nicolas Sarkozy 2007–12
François Hollande 2012–17
Emmanuel Macron 2017–